Atlidakis And Greenman Win Computing Innovation Fellowships


    Click the links that follow for more news about Vasileios P. Kemerlis, Shriram Krishnamurthi, David Laidlaw, and other recent accomplishments by our faculty and students.

    The Computing Research Association (CRA) and Computing Community Consortium (CCC) have announced a new Computing Innovation Fellows (CIFellows) Program for 2020 that recognizes the significant disruption to the academic job search caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and aims to provide a career-enhancing bridge experience for recent and soon-to-be PhD graduates in computing. Nationwide, only 59 fellowships were awarded (out of 550 applications), and Brown CS has received the maximum number possible for a single institution: Evangelos Atlidakis, a recent Columbia University doctoral graduate, will work with Professor Vasileios P. Kemerlis, and Ben Greenman, a doctoral student at Northeastern University, will work with Professor Shriram Krishnamurthi.

    There's an additional Brown CS connection: Morgan L. Turner, a PhD candidate at Brown's Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and collaborator of Professor David Laidlaw, has won a Computing Innovation Fellowship to work with Brown CS alum Daniel F. Keefe, now at the University of Minnesota.

    The goal of the program is to create career growth opportunities that support maintaining the computing research pipeline, and it offers two-year postdoctoral opportunities in computing, with cohort activities to support career development and community building for this group of Fellows. 

    For more information, click the link that follows to contact Brown CS Communications Outreach Specialist Jesse Polhemus.