Ugur Cetintemel Receives Brown University's President's Award For Excellence In Faculty Governance

Click the links that follow for more news about Ugur Çetintemel, prior recipients of the President's Award for Excellence in Faculty Governance, and other recent accomplishments by our faculty.

Less than a year after stepping down as Department Chair, Brown CS faculty member Ugur Çetintemel has received Brown University's President’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Governance, which was established by President Simmons in 2007-08 to celebrate faculty contributions, past and/or present, to the university through service on faculty committees and advisory boards.

In particular, the Awards Subcommittee noted Ugur's "sustained and excellent contributions" in faculty committee service, including his service on the Brown Education Innovation Committee, the Ad Hoc Committee on Promoting Financial Health and Sustainability, the Task Force for Doctoral Education, the Data Science Initiative Planning and Executive Committee, and the Research Computing Advisory Committee.

“In addition to to his outstanding university faculty committee service, Ugur has been an exemplary Chair of the CS department, serving in this role from 2014 to 2022,” said current Department Chair Roberto Tamassia. “Ugur’s many accomplishments as Chair include steering the department through a major phase of faculty expansion and growth in enrollments, launching the Socially Responsible Computing program, and conducting effective fundraising that led to exceeding the $10M target for the UTA Endowment.”

Ugur is the fourth Brown CS recipient of this award, joining Eli Upfal, Tom Doeppner, and John Savage.

For more information, please click the link that follows to contact Brown CS Communications Manager Jesse C. Polhemus.